Community of Sound

An Experimental Music Incubator

Community of Sound is a music incubator focused on experimental, contemporary art music, free improvisation, and sound art. 

The activities of Community of Sound involve Audience Development, Producing New Works, Education, Artistic Development, and Documentation. By pursuing these five areas of practice the founding members of Community of Sound improve their own work and add materially to the greater culture of Burlington Vermont and beyond.

Community of Sound is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization and contributions are tax-deductible for income, gift, and estate taxes. Our EIN is 83-4026332.



Gahlord Dewald
double bass, experimental, composed, and free improvised music

Benjamin Mayock
composer, field recordings, spoken word, and guitar, sound artist

Danielle O’Hallisey
composer, film scores, guitar

Adam Ploof
composer-performer, piano, electronic music and jazz

Jo Bled
improvisational percussion

Jane Boxall
composer, mallet and percussion, poet

Matthew Jadin
jazz percussion

Matthew Evan Taylor
composer, saxophone, improvisation

Elizabeth Reid
viola, contemporary performance practices specialist


Lauren Costello, experimental musician

Toussaint St. Negritude, improvisational musician and poet

Ken Bogdanowicz, music technologist and entrepreneur

Gabrielle Hall, musician and Girls Rock Vermont organizer

John Hastings, composer

Members Emeritus:

Jeffrey Pierce (electronic music, composer, sound design)

Adrianne Cooper Smith (avant-garde banjo/accordion)

Clyde Powers (composer, instrument designer)

Reggie Achilles (electronic musician and composer)

Lauren Costello (cello, electronics, tape, curator, and composer)